Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse, Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan

Publisher: Puffin (Penguin)
Pages: 294 (Paperback)
Form: Novel
Series: Percy Jackson #3

Rating:

It’s not every day you find yourself in hand-to-claw combat with a half-lion, half-human.

But when you’re the son of a Greek god, these things happen. All I was trying to do was bring two new demigods back to camp. But the arrival of the manticore changed everything. Now my friend Annabeth is missing, a goddess is in chains and the general of the Titans wants to unleash a tribe of skeleton warriors on the world.

This is the one where only five of us heroes can join the dangerous quest to defeat the doomsday monster – and our camp’s oracle has predicted that not all of the chosen five will survive . . .

Can Percy save Annabeth – and the rest of the world – before the curse destroys him forever?

My super-slow marathon of Percy Jackson continues and I have to say I’m still enjoying these books immensely. Might have to stop relying on the library soon and buy myself a set of paperbacks for whenever I’m in the mood for a fun-filled Greek-mythology fix. If you didn’t like the first two books this one isn’t going to convince you, it’s very much more of the same – Percy and his friends battling Greek monsters and deities in modern-day America. But if you’ve enjoyed the series so far this is a pretty solid addition to it.

The Titan’s Curse gets off to probably the fastest start of the books so far, throwing Percy and the reader straight into the action, and from there the pace doesn’t really let up until the very end. Although it retreads a lot of familiar ground – somebody Percy cares about has been kidnapped by a baddie and must be rescued, Kronos and his servants are getting more bold and powerful etc. etc. – there’s enough different that it doesn’t feel like a cheap rehash. The main story is moving onwards, new characters (a whole host of them!), both good and bad are being introduced and the world is beginning to feel more fleshed out than just Percy, Annabeth and Grover.  And with the introduction of Artemis and her followers on one side and the sinister ‘general’ on the other, the struggle between good and evil is finally starting to feel epic in proportion instead of a teenage strop blown out of proportion.

Personally I again found elements of the prophecy pretty predictable, it has to be said. I called which of the five was to die, and how it would play into the larger prophecy, pretty quickly. But again this didn’t really hamper my enjoyment of spotting all the different mythological sources and giggling at the inventive ways they were reinterpreted. I enjoyed the new characters and  I particularly enjoyed watching Percy interact regularly with people beyond his immediate friends from the first two books. It’s nice to see that he isn’t the centre of the universe and that interesting things can happen to other people too!

And that’s pretty much all I really have to say on this one, I think. It’s another that I picked up as a light easy read while I was sitting by my granny’s bed in the hospital and, to be honest, I read it in a bit of a daze with so a lot of the little details kind of escape me now I try to think back. General impressions, however, were that it was a highly enjoyable read; the characters were still fun, the ideas still clever, and the juxtaposition of Ancient mythology in modern America still frequently hilarious. I’ll be needing more Tyson in future books though, Tyson is awesome.

Leave a comment

Filed under Novels, Reviews

Leave a Reply

